Gluten-Free Soft Pretzels

10 Jan

Yes, folks. There is such a thing as gf soft pretzels. Thanks to Pamela’s Bread Mix and creative customers, we can all enjoy deliciously chewy dough knots. I didn’t always eat gluten-free, but because of my intolerance, I miss a lot of the foods I used to eat. Miss no more! http://www.pamelasproducts.com/recipe/Pretzel%20Twists/282.aspx

1 1/4 c warm water

2 Tbl brown sugar

3 1/2 c Pamela’s Gluten-Free Bread Mix (or a 19 oz bag)

1 packet rapid rise yeast, or 2.25 tsp

2 Tbl olive oil

2 tsp baking soda (I changed this, but you’ll see why)

In the bowl of a stand mixer equipped with the paddle attachment combine 1 1/4 c water, sugar, and yeast and let bloom. Add flour blend, and mix to combine. Cover and let rise for about an hour. Here is where I change up the directions. I really don’t have the patience all the time to roll out the dough into twelve pieces and form them, so I simply make pretzel sticks. Or Logs, or whatever. I guess you could call them pretzel twists. I pull off pieces the size of roughly a golf ball, roll out with my hands, twist, and top with rock salt. Then, instead of brushing with warm water and baking soda as the original recipe recommends, I actually make a baking soda bath. Heat a few cups of water and a few tsp of baking soda in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, drop in a few twists, wait for them to pop up and let them cook for about 30 seconds on each side. I know this is more effort than just brushing them, but I think it gives them a texture more similar to traditional soft pretzels. After dunking them in the soda bath, bake at 450 degrees F until darkened and cooked through. I usually can’t wait to eat them, and have mustard waiting in the wings. They freeze well, reheat well in the microwave, and never last very long!

One Response to “Gluten-Free Soft Pretzels”

  1. marco February 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Seriously tho

Leave a Reply

