Gluten-Free Flatbread … Sort of

23 Feb

Yesterday, while home for lunch between classes (it was a first since we’ve moved into our new home), I was feeling rather ambitious and decided to try a few new recipes. The first was an adaptation of the Gluten-Free Goddess’s GF Garlic + Tomato Focaccia, found here: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/03/gluten-free-focaccia-recipe-with-garlic.html. Her site is fabulous for those who are gluten-free, so check it out.

Since I’m not a fan of fresh tomatoes on my breads, and this was just an experiment, I changed a few things. For example, I topped mine with sun-dried tomatoes my mother-in-law made and rock salt. I also substituted garbanzo bean flour for millet flour because I was running low on millet. Despite the changes, my bread came out beautifully, and was pretty tasty, too!

Here’s my version:

1 c sorghum flour

1 c potato starch (not potato flour – they are different)

1/2 c garbanzo bean flour

2 tsp xanthan gum

1.5 tsp salt + some fresh ground pepper

2 tsp dried minced onion

1 tsp garlic powder (not to be confused with garlic salt)

2 tsp dried basil

2 tsp dried oregano

1.25 c warm water

1 Tbl yeast

1 squirt of honey (to proof the yeast)

4 Tbl extra virgin olive oil

1 Tbl honey

1/2 tsp rice vinegar

1 egg

In a bowl or measuring cup combine warm water, squirt of honey, and yeast. Set aside to proof (which means let the yeast get nice and foamy). In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the dry ingredients and whisk to combine. Once the yeast has proofed, add it to the dry ingredients. Also add the olive oil, 1 Tbl honey, rice vinegar, and egg. I used the paddle attachment on my stand mixer to do the work of combining for me.

 

While your dough is mixing, butter a round cake pan (I used a springform pan) and coat with corn meal. Check on your dough. Since gluten-free dough is never quite a dough, the mixture will be more like a thick batter. Mine was quite thick, actually. Anyway, scoop the mixture into the prepped pan. Here is the fun part – either grease or wet your hands and smooth (or spread) the dough out to cover the bottom of the pan. You may need to re-wet or re-grease your hands a few time to accomplish this. And cue creative part – add whatever you’d like to the top, if anything at all. I chopped up some sundried tomatoes, slapped on some rock salt, and patted it all down to make sure it didn’t pop off while baking.

 

Karina (the Gluten-Free Goddess) says to warm the oven, and let your bread rise for 20 minutes. Since I was on a time crunch on my lunch break, I preheated the oven to 375 degrees F, and set the pan on the stove to rise for about 10 minutes. When the oven was at 375 degrees, I stuck the pan in the oven and went about my business. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until it is golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped. When it is done, pull it out and let it cool on a baking rack. I couldn’t wait for it to cool and ripped a piece off when it was piping hot, and it was so worth it. I doused my piece in olive oil and it was delicious.

Notes: Garbanzo bean flour has a pretty strong taste. I’d use millet flour next time if I had it, or am open to suggestions. Also, I think I needed to use more water or add another egg perhaps because it came out a bit dry/crumbly. It was still delicious and it didn’t stop me from dipping it in my pasta sauce at dinner, or using it as an excuse to drink the olive oil. I also might try using more xanthan gum just to see what happens. I think I’ll also try adding kalamata olives, fresh sliced garlic, or different herbs next time. Also, I think I’ll skip the cornmeal – it just got everywhere and got in the way of shoveling it in my face. Regardless, it was an awesome lunchtime experiment in my new kitchen.

Leave a Reply

