International Women’s Day

8 Mar

It is International Women’s Day. What does that mean? That means all over the world people are celebrating all things woman. Being a woman,I can appreciate this and everything that has been done throughout history for women’s equality. Here at Urban Wifery we are grateful for women, and all that they do. However, in reality, we are grateful for any productive member of society who stands up for themselves, fights for what they feel is right, and can support others while doing it. That is what the League of Urban Wifery is all about – bringing people together who may have different values, are at different places in their lives, etc.

Check out this article from the Washington Post titled “International Women’s Day:10 Ways to Celebrate” http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/arts-post/post/international-womens-day-10-ways-to-celebrate/2012/03/08/gIQACZ16yR_blog.html?tid=pm_lifestyle_pop

Do something nice for the women in your life today who go unnoticed or noticed, appreciated or unappreciated, and who work their butts off to make your life easier. If you are a woman, take some time to reflect on all of the things you’ve accomplished and all of the people – both male and female – who have gotten you there.

Personally, I have my mother to thank for motivating me to become the ball-buster she is. I also have all of the women in my life who have  taught me not to settle for the status quo, to break the rules, and to stand for equality in accountability. My husband – although he isn’t a woman – has also helped me become the woman I am by pushing my limits and supporting me while I leaped out of my comfort zone.  I’ve been accepted to multiple graduate programs, am in a new house, have loving family, and tons of ideas I can’t wait to share. I am grateful for all of it and everyone.

Yay International Women’s Day. What will you do?

 

One Response to “International Women’s Day”

  1. thelondonflowerlover March 8, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    enjoy enjoyment

Leave a Reply

