Gluten-Free Orange-Scented Cookies with Orange Glaze

22 Mar

Excuse the glare on the plate. These cookies are just so delicious that I didn’t really put much thought into their presentation. I was inspired by a few lemon shortbread cookie recipes I found, but this is my own recipe. If you try it out, let me know how it goes.

For the cookies:

1 1/3 + 1/2 c white rice flour

1/2 c cornstarch

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp xanthan gum

14 Tbl (yes, that’s correct) butter

3/4 c sugar

1 tsp orange extract

1 egg

Preheat oven to 300 F. In a bowl combine flour, cornstarch, xanthan gum, and salt and whisk to combine. In the bowl of a stand mixer cream butter, sugar, and orange extract. Add dry ingredients and egg to mixer and beat until combined and a ball is formed. I rolled half of the dough out between two pieces of parchment paper coated with some extra cornstarch. Roll to about 1/8 – 1/4 inch thick and cut out cookies using a round cookie cutter (I used a 2-inch round). Bake on parchment for roughly 25 – 30 minutes, just until firm. I tried to avoid baking mine long enough to brown – I wanted them pristine and uniform.

For the glaze:

1 c confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp orange extract

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbl water

Orange zest

In a bowl combine sugar and extract. Add enough water to make a thick glaze. Add orange zest. Drizzle over cooled cookies (this is important – otherwise the glaze will melt everywhere).

Let the glazed cookies sit until the glaze has firmed up – about 20 minutes. I am letting mine dry out while I do other things since they aren’t going anywhere. I look forward to dipping them in my tea later, though!

 

Leave a Reply

