Gluten-Free Biscuits – Attempt No. 1

24 Mar

When I first went gluten-free I was dying for flour tortillas, bread, baguette, soft pretzels, and biscuits. With the help of the new Bisquick GF I was able to make a range of delicious baked good, but there is nothing quite like making something from scratch. While searching for gluten-free biscuit recipes, there were none that called to me. Some use cider vinegar, some don’t. Some use shortening, some don’t (which I thought was a staple in “real” biscuits). Who knows. Even the most delicious-looking recipes complete with beautiful photos just didn’t seem like they would satisfy my need for a true biscuit. So, here is my first whack at making a gluten-free biscuit recipe. They didn’t puff up like I had hoped – most likely due to over-working. I am also getting used to my oven, which is new to me but is an old electric oven, so the temperature seemed off. The biscuits did come out flaky, though, which is something other gluten-free biscuits I’ve had seem to be lacking. It is a start.

1 ½ c white rice flour

1/2 c sorghum flour

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbl butter

2 Tbl shortening

1 c milk

2 tsp cider vinegar

Butter or milk for brushing

Preheat oven to 400 F. Stir the cider vinegar into the milk, and let sit 5 minutes. In a large bowl combine the white rice flour, sorghum flour, xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Using a whisk helps to combine the flours well. Add the butter and shortening and rub with your fingers until pea-sized (roughly). Make a well in your flour mixture, and slowly pour in the milk mixture. Using your hands (I wore plastic gloves) gently mix everything together until a dough has formed. Here’s the thing with biscuits: over-mixing them (gluten-free or not) is what creates a dense, flat biscuit. Try not to handle more than you have to. Turn out the dough (it’ll be sticky) onto floured parchment. Feel free to sprinkle more rice flour onto the top of the dough to make it workable. Fold the dough over on itself a few times (different than kneading). Pat down the dough so it is about 1″ thick. Cut into desired shape and arrange on a cookie sheet. I got 13 (a baker’s dozen) 2” rounds. Brush tops with butter or milk (I used butter) and bake 12-14 minutes, until lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

