Thai Peanut Dressing – Gluten-Free

3 Apr

There is no shortage of amazing Thai restaurants here in the Sacramento area. In fact, there is no shortage of Thai restaurants willing to serve food without the soy sauce (which usually contains wheat), so I am pretty fortunate in that regard. However, I don’t always have the funds to hop down to my favorite place for lunch. Instead, I made my own peanut dressing using gluten-free soy sauce and it came out EXACTLY like my favorite restaurant’s version. Try it, you’ll love it.

 

For the dressing:

1/2 c peanut butter

1/4 c gluten-free soy sauce (I use GF Tamari)

1/4 c brown sugar (I used a bit more)

1 Tbl rice vinegar

2 tsp lime juice + zest to taste

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp minced garlic

Water, as needed

Combine everything, except the water, in a small sauce pan. Heat through until peanut butter and sugar have melted down and dissolved. Simmer for a few minutes more, taste for flavor. I added a bit more sugar, lime juice, and garlic towards the end, but you can flavor it however you’d like. As it sits on the stove (or in the fridge) it will thicken up. Here is where the water comes in – add water as necessary to thin the dressing to your desired dressing-like consistency. I think I actually ended up adding nearly a cup.

For the salad (roughly):

Chopped romaine lettuce

Cucumber, thinly sliced

Celery, thinly sliced

Carrot, shaved

Big handful of cilantro, torn

Using any amounts you have or like, combine in a large bowl. Let chill in the refrigerator before serving. When you are ready to serve, pull the salad out and serve with your delicious peanut dressing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

