Fried Bananas – Gluten-Free

5 Apr

I have missed fried bananas from my favorite Korean and Thai restaurants ever so much. Then I realized the recipe doesn’t even call for anything containing gluten. Boy, did I feel behind on the times. Here’s my version:

3/4 c rice flour

1/4 c tapioca starch

2 Tbl sugar

1 tsp salt

1 1/4 c coconut milk

Bananas

Oil for frying

Whisk together flour, starch, sugar, salt, and coconut milk in a medium bowl. Slice a few bananas into whatever shape or size you’d like – I cut them pretty small since I was using a shallow pan and the last of my oil. Make sure your oil is nice and hot (no, I don’t have a specific temperature for you – sorry). It should be hot enough to quickly turn the bananas golden brown, but not so hot that they burn up immediately. Coat your pieces in the batter, drain any excess, and carefully place into the hot oil. Fry until golden brown on both sides (feel free to flip as you see fit). Drain on a paper towel and serve with whatever you’d like. I am addicted to Nutella, so I drizzled it all over my fried bananas. Yum!

Leave a Reply

