Spinach-Parmesan Frittatas – Gluten-Free

13 Apr

I used to absolutely despise eggs, but the older I’ve gotten the more they’ve grown on me. When I cut gluten from my diet I turned to the egg to help me feel like I wasn’t so deprived … or hungry. Turns out eggs aren’t so bad after all.

This recipe was part of the recent brunch I hosted and I made it at the last minute. They took minimal energy, cooked quickly, and everyone enjoyed them. This recipe made about 21 muffin-sized frittatas, which was more than enough for 12 people.

12 eggs

3/4 c milk

1 c bacon bits or pieces (I fried up about 3 pounds of bacon for this and our B.L.T. Salad)

1/2 – 1 c grated Parmesan

4.5 oz frozen spinach, thawed (that is about half a box of frozen spinach)

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease two 12-cup muffin tins (or one 24-cup tin). Combine ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Make sure everything is incorporated and nothing is clumping. Spoon mixture into muffin tins about 3/4 full. Bake until the tops have puffed up and are golden brown. I’ll be honest – I was doing a million other things while these were baking, so I’m not 100% sure how long they baked. I want to say they baked for about 10 minutes. Just keep an eye on them. When you pull them out they will deflate a little – don’t be discouraged. They will be delicious regardless. Serve hot or room temperature … or cold the next day!

I had mine fresh from the oven with B.L.T. Salad with Creamy Pesto Dressing, gluten-free silver dollar pancakes with blueberry compote, Mashed Potato Cakes, and Strawberry-Basil Salad!

Leave a Reply

