Sour Cream Cake Donuts – Gluten-free

6 Jun

This morning I was pleased to discover it was National Donut Day. However, since going gluten-free I have yet to have a delicious donut, so it was for nothing … or so I thought.

I was possessed by the power of the donut to come up with something I could call a donut, and off to the kitchen I went. I had no milk. I had sour cream. I researched some sour cream donut recipes, and these delicious morsels were born.

I had no frosting, no confectioners sugar, and no corn syrup. I had Nutella.

1 c white rice flour

1/2 c millet flour

1/4 c potato starch (not potato flour)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ginger

Pinch of nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 c sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 Tbl melted butter, cool

1/2 c sour cream

Oil for frying

In a mixer cream eggs and sugar together until thick. Add vanilla, butter, and sour cream. Mix to combine. In a bowl combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. Whisk or sift to combine. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients to form a dough.

I didn’t let mine chill, but I’d suggest doing so for about 30-60 minutes. The dough was pretty soft and almost didn’t make it to the oil. Once the dough has settled and chilled, flour a flat surface well (the dough is sticky). Roll dough to 1/2 inch thickness, and using a 4 inch cutter cut circles until all of the dough is used. You can recycle this dough like “regular” gluten dough and incorporate the dusting flour along the way. Using a smaller cutter, cut the donut “hole” and place all of the pieces on a well-floured baking sheet. Note: I used the cap of a Mountain Dew bottle as my small cutter, and it worked like magic.

I meant to take a pic of my glorious uncooked donuts and their holes, but I was too excited to and moved on to frying. Heat the oil to about 375 degrees F, and fry only a few donuts at a time. Fry until golden brown, and flip after a minute or two. Remove and let cool on a paper towel pile (I put mine on a cooling rack).

I topped mine with Nutella, but you could frost, glaze, sugar, or keep them naked. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

