Gluten-Free Flatbread

26 Jun

Lately I’ve been so busy that I barely stop to think about what I’m eating. Sure, I plan out my lunches and snacks for work, but dinner is always a mystery. I just haven’t gotten that whole planning-out-dinner thing down. I’ll get there.

On my way home from work last week a wave of craving washed over me and a grocery store happened to be on my route. I ran in, grabbed a cucumber, feta, tomatoes, a red onion, mint, and some lemonade and was on my way. It all cost me about 12.00, which was less than I was expecting for this certain store. Not bad.

I whipped up some flatbread, grilled some chicken, assembled my ingredients, and dinner was actually done in no time at all.

This flatbread is actually the gluten-free pizza dough recipe, but with a few modifications in the cooking process. I didn’t let it rise, and I cooked it a little less to keep it chewy and pliable.

For the bread:

1.5 c tapioca starch

1 c white rice flour

2/3 c chickpea flour

2/3 c sorghum flour

2 tsp xanthan gum

2 tsp salt

1 c milk

1/2 c water

5 tsp yeast

4 tsp sugar

4 egg whites

4 Tbl olive oil

First, preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Then, in a measuring cup heat the milk and water until about 110 degrees F. Add sugar and yeast. Set aside to proof.

In the bowl of a stand mixer (using the paddle attachment) combine flours, gum, and salt.

Once the yeast has proofed, add egg whites and olive oil. Gently whisk or mix with a fork, and add to dry ingredients. Beat on medium speed for about five (5) minutes until dough is smooth and blended.

Cut 8 pieces of parchment paper, and have more olive oil on hand. (I actually wear rubber gloves covered in olive oil for this next part, which makes it all much easier.) Drizzle some oil on one of the parchment squares, and spread lightly. Scoop about 1/8 of the dough (eyeball it) onto the parchment and drizzle more oil onto the dough. Using your fingers, gently spread the dough as thin as you can get it without tearing.

Here is where things need to speed up: you need to get your dough flattened without it rising too much, and you need to make sure your oven is hot when you start throwing them in there to bake. Also, note that airbake-type pans are not good for this – a thin baking sheet or pizza stone are best. You want these to cook relatively quickly.

Bake each dough on the parchment for about 2-3 minutes per side. Yes, I said oer side – you flip it half way through cooking to get a nice crust on both sides.

The dough will rise a bit in the oven, but when you flip it over it will even out a bit. I love the flavor of this dough so I don’t care how puffed or how flat it turns out. I’ll enjoy it regardless. But back to business.

Once the dough has cooked on both sides, transfer it to a baking rack to cool, or for less crust and crunch pile on a plate as they come out of the oven. My baking sheet was large enough that I was able to do two smaller pieces at a time, which was nice.

I enjoyed these with grilled chicken, Greek salad, and hummus with a cucumber-gin cooler to top it all off – recipes to come. Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Gluten-Free Flatbread”

  1. sfdifi June 26, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Okay, I am telling all of your readers that this meal ranks on my top ten list of meals I’ve eaten over the course of 54 years of eating across the globe. This flatbread was unlike anything I’ve had before. It was warm out of the oven, and so aromatic and chewy and flavorful. Definitely not an Indian naan, definitely not a pita. The grilled chicken had such a great Mediterranean flavor, and the marinated tomatoes, onion, cucumbers and feta cheese were so refreshing on a summer evening. I’ve had plenty of Greek meals similar to this, but I just could not stop eating this (yet another) utterly mouth-watering delicious novel beautiful meal out of Kali’s kitchen.

    Dianne
    Kali’s proud mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Pantry | The League of Urban Wifery - June 1, 2013

    […] for quite a while on my journey. I have since learned to make my own delicious pizza crust using my flat bread recipe  or french bread recipe, but their product is a great go-to. Udi’s also carries bagels, […]

Leave a Reply

