Flatbread with Grilled Chicken and Hummus

27 Jun

This recipe uses the delicious flatbread recipe I posted yesterday and takes it to new levels. If my family and I had any room in our stomachs left, or a whole batch of bread left we would have eaten it all night. The bread and hummus combo is SO good. Or maybe I just really missed bread and hummus!

For the chicken:

4 chicken breasts, sliced in half lengthwise to produce two thin breast pieces

1 lemon

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp oregano

Salt and pepper

Heat your grill to, well, pretty hot. I have no idea how hot my grill was because I usually just eyeball my chicken. Sorry! Not helpful, I know.

In a bowl or dish add the juice and some zest of the lemon. Add the garlic, oregano, and about 1/2 tsp of salt and pepper. Add your chicken and toss to coat. Throw it on the grill and cook through. Pull it off, let it chill out for a second, and when you’re ready to serve slice it into 1/2 inch strips at an angle. Not only will it be nice to look at, it will be a nice size to eat as well.

For the hummus: I used Sabra hummus singles! I always have them on hand and they’re delicious with just about anything. It would be much easier to have a Sabra family-size container, I’m sure, but hey. You could also make your own, but I am admittedly too lazy for that.

For the assembly: I grabbed a delicious little bread, smothered it in hummus, and piled it high with chicken. I also added some Greek salad and extra feta, but that recipe will have to be another day. Eat up!

Leave a Reply

