Homemade Gluten-free BBQ Sauce

8 Jul

What could be better than a Sunday that a BBQ sauce recipe? I love Sundays and I love BBQ sauce. For all the years I’ve loved tangy, sweet, and spicy sauces I’ve never made one myself. It just slipped through the cracks, I guess.

This year, however, for our 4th of July feast I was determined to make the sweet, tangy, rich sauce that I love ever so much. All in all, my first attempt at BBQ sauce was not too shabby. It was a hit and even better the next day!

2 slices of bacon (uncooked), diced

1 c onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 – 1 tsp red pepper flakes

1.5 c ketchup

1.5 c vinegar

3/4 c molasses

1/2 c honey

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c jam of choice

1/2 tsp salt

In a small sauce pan saute the garlic, onions, and bacon until the onions and garlic have cooked down and the bacon has cooked through (but not crisped up). Add red pepper flake and cook for a minute or so to combine the flavors.

Add the remaining ingredients. I added the jam after about an hour of simmering, but I figured there is no harm in adding it right from the start next time. The reason I added the jam was because I found the sauce to be a bit tangy for my tastes, but once it had been simmering for a large portion of the day the bite of the vinegar had calmed down.

I simmered the sauce on very low heat for nearly 3 hours. I had only intended to cook it for an hour at most while I prepped the other food, but it turned into much longer because I didn’t see the harm in letting it go for that long. It got quite thick, so I may cut it short next time, but it was delicious. My husband, who is not a fan of tangy BBQ sauce, even said it was good and scarfed down a whole pile o’ meat slathered in sauce.

This sauce would be delicious on not only meat, but pizza too, or as a dip. If you try this recipe and have feedback, let us know!

Leave a Reply

