Cider Slaw

11 Jul

This recipe, like so many others I make, is super simple. I don’t like fussing over sides, making overly complicated dishes, or spending too much time on something in the kitchen. Don’t get me wrong: I LOVE cooking, but I think too much time spent on the wrong things kills the love going into them. This dish was a side at our July 4th meal, so my energy went into other things (like the BBQ sauce).

1 bag prepped slaw mix (yes, I cheated)

1/3 c orange juice or lemonade (don’t judge – it worked out great)

1/4 c cider vinegar

2 Tbl sugar

2 Tbl dijon

1 Tbl vegetable oil

1 tsp salt

Pepper to taste

In a large bowl combine all ingredients except slaw mix. Whisk to combine. Add slaw mix, and toss to coat thoroughly. I didn’t let mine sit for too long since I made it right before we were about to eat, but it would benefit from a good chill in the fridge for a while before serving. It was easy, fresh, and refreshing! Next time I may add apple, Sriracha, jicama, or fresh juice. Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

