The Melting Pot Sacramento

23 Jul

My husband and I celebrated our 1st year of marriage and our 11th year of togetherness with a wonderful evening at The Melting Pot here in Sacramento. I feel like nearly everyone has heard of the place, but when I finally checked out their website I was impressed to see a gluten-free menu available! It is labeled quite clearly as to what is GF and what isn’t, and there are tons of options. Check out their GF menu for yourself and tell me it isn’t awesome.

Here is how our night went:

We arrived nearly 20 minutes early, which was our poor judgment. We were hoping to be seated despite our early arrival, but the friendly hostess wishes us a happy anniversary (which was a pleasant surprise) and let us know it would be closer to our reservation time of 6:30 pm. I have to admit my hub and I were a bit disgruntled by the wait, but only because we were absolutely starving at that point. However, that was a mere hiccup compared to the lovely night that followed and we realize it is no one’s fault but ours.

We were taken back to our nicely secluded booth just before 6:30 pm and were handed two different menus – one regular, one gluten-free . There is an option online when making reservations to note a gluten allergy, so I was impressed that they actually took note. Not only that, but there was an envelope waiting for us with “Happy Anniversary” written on it. Inside the card were signatures of some of the staff, and that was wonderful sentiment to kick off our evening! The attentiveness right from the get-go was wonderful.

 

Our waiter showed up promptly and asked if he’d like us to go through the menu (which we declined) and was helpful throughout the evening. What delighted me the most throughout the entire night was the knowledge of the gluten/gluten-free items on the menu. He made a point to place the sauces not suitable for me on my hub’s side of the table and explained what I could and could not have. Not only that, but since my husband (not gluten-free) said to keep the gluten away all of the courses that came out were free for me to devour. The waiter also clarified each time he brought something out that it was indeed gluten-free.

One issue that arose while initially ordering was the issue of the one-pot-two-diets predicament. I am gluten-free, but my husband is not. Initially the waiter said he can bring me gluten-free plates, and bring my hub the normal dippers, but when I inquired if we’d be sharing one pot the waiter asked how sensitive I was. I thought it was an interesting question since I avoid gluten at all costs if I can help it. I didn’t ask because I was hitting hunger meltdown, but I wonder what would be the case for someone who was extremely sensitive dining with someone who wanted gluten. Perhaps they’d have to be seated at a table that accommodated multiple pots.

Anywho, we ordered the Four Course Dinner that allowed us to choose our own dishes with each course. Fir our first course we ordered the Spinach Artichoke Cheese fondue, which was surprisingly assembled in the pot at our table. It was quite a sight for my gluten-wary eyes to be able to visually inspect for myself what was going into my supposedly gluten-free dish. What a relief. I took no enzyme pills, and enjoyed every bite of the gooey goodness that bubbled between us, which was served with broccoli, granny smith apples, cauliflower, and carrots.

 

Our next course was salad, and while my hub went with the Caesar salad, I had the California salad. It was a delicious mix of baby greens, Roma tomatoes, candied pecans and rich Gorgonzola cheese with raspberry black walnut vinaigrette. I didn’t think I’d eat much of it in an attempt to save room for what was to come, but I ate all but a few leaves. I admit I did take an enzyme pill prior to inhaling my salad because I was afraid of possible cross-contamination (bready hands often help out with salads I hear).

 

Next was the main course. For our dinner the main course included sirloin, white shrimp, pork, chicken, and teriyaki-marinated sirloin. The waiter was quick to let me know the teriyaki marinade was not safe for me and asked what we would like to replace it with. We opted for some delightful filet, and it was no problem (or extra cost). It also comes with mushrooms, potatoes, and broccoli. You are given a choice as to which cooking method you’d like, and we opted for the Court Bouillon. It was a flavorful vegetable broth that came to the table piping hot and was delicious. When our food arrived to the table I was stunned. It was beautifully presented, came with sauces I hadn’t expected, and there was a ton of it!

The sauces include: a creamy curry yogurt, green goddess, a fiery cocktail sauce that set my face afire (and I loved every moment of it), Gorgonzola port sauce, ginger plum, and teriyaki glaze (not shown in the pic because the waiter attentively set it next to my husband’s plate).

It takes two minutes for the meat to cook, and one and a half minutes for the veggies and shrimp. This course took the longest amount of time to enjoy, but it is worth every minute. My husband and I got a chance to just sit and talk and enjoy each other’s company – something we rarely do due to our conflicting schedules. The staff (not just our waiter) were extremely attentive and never missed a beat in refilling drinks, bringing out more dippers, etc. They also weren’t annoyingly attentive, either. It was thoroughly enjoyable.

For dessert you are given all kinds of options! Although there are plenty of specialty fondues, we chose to do a simple dark chocolate with Grand Marnier fondue. It was absolutely heavenly! In addition to being brought a huge plate of strawberries, pineapple, bananas, and marshmallows, my husband asked what other treats they may have. Here is the kicker: he is allergic to fresh fruit. It developed as a horrifying side effect to a trial asthma treatment when he was an adolescent and has plagued him ever since. So there we were, the gluten-free and fruit-free couple with fruit and two marshmallows to enjoy. Ha! The waiter promptly and happily brought out a small plate with the most delicious-looking glutenous treats you could imagine.

 

But alas, what were we to do about the single pot of bubbling chocolate between us? Being the ever-accommodating hub that he is, my husband simply drizzled the chocolate over his tasty treats with a spoon. Aside from his inability to really roll his treats around in the chocolate, we both could not have been any happier with the meal or more satisfied. If anything we were too satisfied and felt like we should have been rolled back to our car.

The entire evening was just perfect, and the staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. Although there are some considerations if going with non-GF guests, the experience as a whole was surprisingly worry-free. I am used to uneducated staff, unaccommodating menus, and undeniable contamination. None of those things could be found at The Melting Pot. I definitely will go back, and do so gladly. It was a wonderful experience!

 

One Response to “The Melting Pot Sacramento”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gluten Free Night at Melting Pot Sacramento Review « The League of Urban Wifery - October 22, 2012

    […] you – The Melting Pot here in Sacramento has got that covered. I had previously enjoyed an anniversary dinner there with my husband, but when I heard there was a restaurant-wide gluten free night I had to go […]

Leave a Reply

