Biscuits and Gravy, Baby.

29 Jul

Sunday mornings were always something to look forward to when I was little.  Although there was never quite a formal breakfast of any kind (that I can remember) someone was always making something delicious. My mom would make her mom’s paper pancakes, or my dad would make biscuits and gravy. This is all pre-GF of course, so I had to find alternatives. I had tried one biscuit recipe, and although it was delicious it isn’t the type I remember having with my gravy. So, I threw together some ingredients based on the many recipes I’ve browsed over the last two years and I came up with a pretty tasty biscuit. It is even better sopping with rich country gravy. Scroll down for both recipes, and happy eating!

Biscuits:

1 c cornstarch

1 c sorghum flour

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1.5 tsp xanthan gum

4 Tbl butter, chilled and cubed

1 c milk

2 egg whites

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Combine dry ingredients, and whisk to incorporate thoroughly. Add butter, and using your fingers (or forks or pastry cutter) cut the butter into the dough until the mixture resembles grainy sand … or sand with a few delicious butter pebbles. Add milk and egg whites and combine thoroughly with a fork. I’m sure you could roll the dough out and cut biscuits, but I am always too hungry to do all that, so I spooned 13 biscuits (a baker’s dozen) onto a baking sheet lined with parchment.

Bake for roughly 15 minutes, or until the tops begin to brown and it feels slightly firm to the touch (be careful, obviously – they’ll be hot). The insides are light and chewy, and the sorghum flour gives them a rich flavor that just screams for honey, or in this case divine country gravy.

Gravy:

1.5 c ground sausage

4 Tbl butter

1/2 c sorghum flour (or any flour of your liking)

4 c milk

Heaping Tbl corn starch

Salt and pepper

1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning

1/2 tsp onion powder

Seasonings to taste (whatever you like)

Start off by frying up the sausage, anticipating the delicious fat that will eventually come forth into the pan. I actually used the 4 Tbl of butter only because the sausage I used produced very little fat, so use as needed. Add the 1/2 flour and cook for a minute or two with the sausage. Add 3 (THREE) cups milk and stir to combine. Let cook for a few minutes to thicken up. Add salt, pepper, Old Bay, onion powder, and whatever other spices you may be using. I sometimes add sage in the Fall or seasoning salts if we have them on hand. Mix the cornstarch with the remaining 1 (ONE) cup of milk and add to the pan. Stir to combine and let it cook for a few minutes until it thickens to your desired consistency. Slather your biscuit with the hot, bubbling gravy and enjoy!

One Response to “Biscuits and Gravy, Baby.”

  1. Cori July 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    Looks tasty! I’m a huge fan of biscuits and gravy too!

Leave a Reply

