Margarita Shrimp with Red Pepper Salsa

1 Aug

Monday nights are always a little bit of a flop when it comes to dinner in our household for some reason. I think it may be due to the lack of interest in Mondays in general. My Mondays are luckily always pretty entertaining since I play and read stories all day, but they do wear me out nonetheless. Potty training, reffing toddler beatdowns, and prepping meals all day can be taxing. I don’t even have children of my own yet and still feel pretty pooped by the end of my work day.

This week was different. I got home, took care of a few things, then was suddenly possessed to make something. I didn’t even care that it wouldn’t necessarily be dinner, or that no one was around to eat it. I just felt like cooking, so I did.

I made red pepper salsa, margarita grilled shrimp, and homemade flour tortillas. Boom. I did it all in record time, too. Apparently I was possessed by the time-management god as well as the cooking god, and that worked for me.

The salsa was a snap in my brand spankin’ new Vitamix blender my hub so graciously bought us for our anniversary. It was a California State Fair splurge purchase, but well worth it since I got the dry container with it to make my own grain flours! That’s another post, though.

Anyway, the salsa was muy delicioso and super easy:

2 Roma tomatoes

2 garlic cloves

1/4 red onion

1/4 red bell pepper

1/2 c cilantro

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp Sriracha hot sauce

Here’s the deal: if you don’t have a super-powered blender, you’ll have to chop and prep the veggies a bit. However, I literally peeled my garlic, halved my tomatoes, and cut the root of my onion chunk and tossed it all in. I used my tamper to make sure it all got dealt with, but it was magical. Blend, pour, serve.

As for the shrimp, well, the recipe was quite an accident. I thought I had tequila somewhere in my house to make tequila lime shrimp, but I was sorely disappointed to discover that I, daughter of the man who nearly has tequila as blood, had none to be found. What could I possibly use instead? The most delicious Jose Cuervo Golden Margarita, of course! My mom buys a few for every party we ever have, and I had an open one in my fridge … So I used it.

12 oz. shrimp (I used 35 – 41 count)

1/2 c Jose Cuervo Margarita

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 c cilantro, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

Skewers

First things first: you need to soak your wooden skewers before you use them! I made the mistake of NOT doing that once and set my food on fire. Fail. So, soak your wooden skewers. While they are soaking, toss the shrimp and remaining ingredients into a bag or bowl. I tossed mine in a large ziploc bag, squished things around (technical terms, you know) and let it marinate for about 30 minutes while I made my tortillas. When I was ready to keep an eye on my shrimp (since they cook quickly), I threaded my skewers with about 6 shrimp each, and put them on my preheated grill. Cook through, a few minutes on each side, and serve with the red pepper salsa!

Leave a Reply

