Cloudy with a side of meatballs

8 Aug

The other night, despite the weather averaging near 100 degrees in recent days, was a blustery cool evening that ended with a lightening storm. I love summer storms, especially since they remind me of summers with my cousins in Minnesota. I began the day ready for something refreshing, only to decide to make a hearty, warm meal.

The meal began with my mad scientist attempt at gf french bread, which turned out chewy, soft, and crunchy (the way it should be). Since I had been so bent on making the bread I failed to come up with a full meal, and finally decided to make spaghetti (gf of course) and meatballs.

Here is the thing about meatballs: everyone has their own recipe, uses their own blend of meats, or adds different veggies. What I’ve found, though, is that nearly all truly delicious meatballs use some amount or form of bread crumbs. Now, for those of us who have to make bread this isn’t always the simplest ingredient. Sure, if you think ahead you can save the ends of your homemade loaves and make bread crumbs, or just make a loaf to turn into breadcrumbs, but that isn’t for everyone. In a moment of mad scientist insight, I discovered cornmeal in my pantry. I love me some cornbread, but I also love that it resembled the glutenous breadcrumbs I remember my parents buying when I was little. Boom. The electrical storm in the air must have helped me out, because that seemed so simple that I was almost embarrassed as to why I hadn’t thought of it before. Weirder still, I hadn’t ever come across a recipe that used cornmeal, either. Who knew.

Another thing to note is the cooking method. Everyone seems to cook them differently as well. Some pan fry and steam, some bake, some throw into the sauce to cook. Whatever your method, this recipe should work out just fine.

The meatballs were nothing fancy, but considering I used what I had on-hand and whipped them up fast enough to compliment my french bread, they were pretty good.

2 lbs hamburger (or ground meat of your choice)

1 c diced onion (about half a large onion)

1 c diced green bell pepper (about half a large pepper)

1 large clove garlic, minced

2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp dried basil

2.5 tsp McCormick Perfect Pinch Salt Free Garlic & Herb Seasoning 

4 egg yolks (minus a little I used to brush on my french bread loaf)

1/2 c cornmeal

Combine ingredients in a large bowl (I use gloves for this too), and preheat a large pan to medium high heat. I used a nice big skillet with high sides. Form your mixture into balls the size of a golf ball (or whatever you prefer), and fry on all sides. Cover with a lid and cook a few minutes more to cook through. Remove from pan when cooked and let them hang out on a plate if you are making them in batches. At the very end, add the meatballs back to the pan, add your tomato sauce (if using) and heat through. Serve with your favorite pasta, wine, and side of french bread. Yum!

One Response to “Cloudy with a side of meatballs”

  1. kaliperi August 8, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    It is 9:00 in the morning and I want spaghetti and meatballs for breakfast!! My mouth is watering looking at that picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

