Bruschetta

15 Aug

Every time I overcome a gluten free baking hurdle I never fail to remember yet another dish or meal I’ve missed. The last time this happened was last week. I tackled french bread, chowed on some meatballs, and then it hit me. What can you do with left over tomatoes and french bread? The answer must be obvious: bruschetta. Duh. Why it hadn’t occurred to me earlier on my gluten free journey I have no idea. However, the timing was perfect. I had delicious bread to be the base for this ridiculously simple snack.

I got home one evening to find myself in a strangely quiet house (that is rare living with three men and a number of pets) and not much to eat on hand. I was tired, hungry, crabby, and was ready to eat just about anything. Then my Vitamix called to me. Then the bag of sliced french bread called to me. And finally the tomatoes. What else was I to do? And there I was, throwing ingredients into my magical blender.

4 roma tomatoes

2 cloves of garlic

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp dried basil (I had no fresh basil available)

Dash of black pepper

Splash of olive oil (maybe 1 or 2 Tbl?)

Throw it in your blender. For a Vitamix: turn it on, turn it to variable speed 5-8, blend to your desired consistency. Top any delicious base (like bread) you can find. Enjoy … Thoroughly.

It was so fresh, so refreshing, and so satisfying that it is all I had for dinner. I had missed it so much that the few pieces of bread I had used left me satisfied and I have no doubt you will be too once you try it. And yes, for those of you traditionalists, I’m sure it would be even better with fresh basil and shaved parmesan!

Leave a Reply

