Baked Mac ‘n’ Cheese

17 Aug

I know, I’ve done macaroni and cheese. That was stove top, and this is baked, my friends. I never though gluten free pasta would hold up to baking, but this was divine. Cheesy, salty, rich, and not mushy (like I had expected). All the men in my house loved it and I had just enough to save for lunch tomorrow. Perfect.

1 box Schar gluten free fusilli  (12 oz. uncooked)

1/3 butter

1/3 sorghum flour

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/4 tsp salt

1.5 c milk (I always use lactose free)

1 c cubed American cheese

1/2 c feta

Black pepper

1/8 – 1/4 c grated parmesan cheese

1/2 c gluten free pretzels, crushed to a crumb – I used Glutino pretzel sticks (they’re habit forming, watch out)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter an 8 x 8 backing dish. Cook pasta according to directions, but drain while slightly al dente. Do NOT cook the pasta completely.

While the pasta is cooking, I threw the butter, flour, salts, and milk in my Vitamix. You could do the same in whatever blender you may have. If you really wanted to, this could easily be done on the stove as well. Once the mixture has thickened, add cheeses and stir/blend to combine and add pepper to taste.

Combine the cheese sauce and pasta (I did so in the baking dish) and make sure you coat all of the pasta. Top with parmesan and pretzel crumbs and bake for roughly 15 minutes or until the sauce is bubbling and the top is golden brown. I couldn’t wait for it to cool, and enjoyed it right out of the oven!

One Response to “Baked Mac ‘n’ Cheese”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Lineup « The League of Urban Wifery - November 21, 2012

    […] Bacon mac-and-cheese (a special request by my sister) […]

Leave a Reply

