My Mom’s Tamale Pie

22 Aug

In addition to Mama Hayes’s tamale pie we enjoyed this past weekend at Steven’s 30th birthday party, we also enjoyed my own mom’s version of tamale pie. Well, I took some liberty with her recipe, but the style of pie was similar. Steven’s mom tops her beef mixture with hominy, slathers it in cheese and black olives. My mom always made her layered with corn tortillas and served with sour cream and salsa.

After making two pans of Mama Hayes’s tamale pie I realized I may need more food for the amount of people I was expecting. Well. I had no more beef, no more hominy, and no more energy. Luckily, my mom brought over a family pack of chicken breasts (about 8 breasts), so I set to work making chicken enchiladas. You read correctly – I wanted to make enchiladas. Ha!

Well, since my corn tortillas were not cooperating (I was later told it was operator error) I opted to layer them like my mom does. I had chicken at the ready, cans of enchilada sauce, olives, onion, and cheese waiting to be used and I was determine to use it. I also had the last bit of my favorite Jose Cuervo Golden Margarita staring me down. I ended up using that, too, just I had in my Margarita Shrimp. The result was so good that I had it for breakfast the next day. And lunch the day after. So good.

This recipe made two 9 x 13 metal steam pans.

8 chicken breasts (I used a family pack)

2 8 oz cans Rotel zesty tomato and green chile sauce 

2 c Jose Cuervo Golden Margarita

36 6-in corn tortillas

4 c grated cheese

1 large onion, diced finely

2 29.2 cans Rosarita Enchilada Sauce

Olives for topping/garnish

In a pressure cooker combine chicken, margarita, and two cans of zesty sauce. Cook according to directions, although I guessed and cooked for 25 minutes. I could’ve done 35-40 minutes to really make it fall apart, but 25 was good enough for me. When it has cooked through, shred the chicken and discard the cooking liquid.

Note: each pan will use 18 tortillas – 3 layers of 6 tortillas. In each pan you’ll have tortillas, chicken, onions, cheese, sauce, repeat. That being said, keep an eye on your chicken for roughly 6 portions, and the same for your cheese.

To assemble: place 6 tortillas on the bottom of each pan. Cover tortillas with a layer of chicken, add some onions, slather with some cheese, drizzle with some sauce, and repeat until each pan has 3 layers and the ingredients have been used up. Garnish with olives. In case you’re wondering about the top layer: yes, sauce is on the top as well. It adds flavor, crisps up, and is delicious.

Bake at 350 degrees F for about 40 minutes or until the cheese and enchilada sauce are bubbling and everything is heated through. Enjoy with sour cream, salsa, or whatever else you can find to slap on it!

 

2 Responses to “My Mom’s Tamale Pie”

  1. Edythe Hamilton September 1, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    WHERE ??!!? did you purchase Rosarita Enchilada Sauce. I live in Los Angeles and can not find it anywhere…arrrrggggghhh 😦

  2. skiweescrochet September 1, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    Hello! Can you please tell WHERE IN THE WORLD did you purchase Rosarita Enchilada Sauce. I used this sauce before and then it disappeared off the market shelves :(. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE let me know where you bought it. 😀

Leave a Reply

