Pasta Pasta!

25 Aug

There is nothing more rewarding or delicious than homemade pasta. For those of us living without gluten, it can be quite a task to find a good recipe. After trying multiple recipes over the last few years I think I may have come  up with a winner!

I always have the menfolk in my house try my new recipes and give me their feedback, and this one seemed to really stand out for my father, who is a HUGE foodie. Well, he just loves food and loves eating, so he should have some good feedback by this point. Indeed he did have some good feedback. He said the pasta had a great consistency, with some salt and more parmesan was delicious, and held up very well. That all sounds good to me!

The pasta I served him was actually the trimmings of the ravioli rounds I had cut. Ravioli rounds, you say? Oh, yes. Do I like ravioli? Sure. Do I like them better when they are fried? You better believe it.

This is the basic pasta recipe, though. The dough is supple, stretches, holds up well, and can be rolled extremely thinly. This is by far the best behaving dough I’ve made so far.

1/3 c white rice flour

1/3 c garbanzo bean flour

1 c cornstarch

2/3 c tapioca starch

1.5 tbl xanthan gum

2 tsp salt

5 whole eggs

5 tbl olive oil

In a large bowl combine the flours, xanthan gum, and salt and whisk to combine. Aside from the cornstarch, all of the flours I used are Bobs Red Mill. I find that their products are consistent, reliable, and are always fresh (I’ve had some bad flour experiences in the past). I use the garbanzo flour for the high protein content, and the rice flour for its neutral taste. You can probably use whatever you prefer without much variance in the final product.

In a small bowl whisk the eggs and oil to combine briefly. Add to the flour and blend with your fingers to combine. Yes, I used gloves, but since they kept falling off (they were size L and I have S hands) I eventually ended up kneading the dough in all of its sticky glory.

The dough does get quite sticky, so use cornstarch as needed. I wouldn’t use garbanzo flour (the taste is too strong) or rice flour (it makes the pasta look gray when cooked) for dusting.

On a clean, flat surface floured with cornstarch flatten a quarter of the dough with your hands. Keep the dough that is waiting in the wings in the bowl covered with a damp paper towel. Sprinkle more starch on the top of the dough being rolled, and roll as thinly as you can get it without it tearing. I got mine pretty dang thing.

 

From here you can continue to roll all of the dough, roll it through a machine, or slice/cut into whatever you fancy. I used a 2-inch round cutter to make circles for my raviolis. It was the scraps that called to me for a test run, though, so I gathered them up and dusted as much of the cornstarch off of them as I could.

 

I salted a small pot of water and added a quick drizzle of olive oil. When the water was boiling I tossed in the pasta and cooked for about 8 minutes. I strained it over the sink, slapped it into a bowl and slathered it in butter and parmesan shavings. Dad added some salt and more grated parmesan and proceeded to devour the entire bowl!

One Response to “Pasta Pasta!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Penne Lasagna Bake « The League of Urban Wifery - October 3, 2012

    […] then turned my attention to how I could make my own. I could make my own pasta and try it in lasagna, I bought DeBoles rice lasagna noodles but have yet to try them (but am […]

Leave a Reply

