Fried Raviolis, Please!

27 Aug

Among the rest of my numerous favorite glutened foods I chowed down on before my gluten free days was fried ravioli. I would order it wherever I could find it – fairs, restaurants, cafes, hotel room service, etc. I don’t know what it is about them that is so irresistible, but I literally cannot pass them up. Ever. Even now it is hard for me not to slam an order of them (with the help of my enzyme pills, of course) when I find them.

I think what makes them so irresistible is that they are fried. They’re piping hot, golden, and crunchy, and the best part is that my own kitchen isn’t covered in oil. I’ve made them myself before in my kitchen and although they were SO good, it was quite a mess. What else could I do? I thought I had no other option. Well, until today.

How did I cook them? I baked them. You heard me. Stuck those bad boys in the oven and baked them. Then I devoured them. Then wished there were more. I made a new pasta recipe, which was perfect for this, and filled the little morsels with Alton Brown’s tortellini filling.

Here we go:

1 pasta recipe

1/2 c ricotta cheese

1/4 c grated parmesan

2 tbl chopped spinach

1 egg

Freshly ground black pepper

Pinch of nutmeg

2 c gluten free pretzels (I always use Glutino‘s)

To begin, make the pasta recipe and roll it as thinly as you can. I used a 2-inch round cutter and cut what felt like was a hundred circles. I’m not sure how many I actually cut, but it was a lot.

 

When you have cut all of your pieces cover them with a damp paper towel so they don’t dry out too much. I layered mine a bit and with all of the cornstarch they were coated it, they didn’t stick.

Next, in a small bowl combine the ricotta, parm, egg, spinach, pepper, and nutmeg. Stir to combine. Now that your filling is ready, bust out an egg for the sealant. I used an egg yolk, actually, and it worked perfectly. Get ready to assemble.

 

At this point how you do it us up to you, as long as you use the egg to seal them shut, and don’t over fill them. I made some circular (with two pieces) and tried some crescents as well (one piece folded in half). Both worked just fine and were just as yummy.

You can boil them at this point, or freeze them. Or, you can press on to the next few steps and reap the rewards of your labor.

Next are the bread crumbs. If you have some gf crumbs on hand, high five. I never do, so I used my Vitamix to turn some Glutino pretzels into a delicious coating for my raviolis. It took a whole 30 seconds and was just what I needed.

 

To coat: I dipped my little pasta babies into my remaining egg wash. You may need to crack another egg for this part, but hey. Dip each morsel into the egg, then into the crumbs. That’s it. Place them on a baking sheet (I used parchment paper as well).

 

Bake them at 375 degrees F for about 10-15 minutes. I flipped mine half way through, and they came out crunchy, golden, and tasty. Serve them up with some marinara (pesto would be good, too) and watch them disappear.

2 Responses to “Fried Raviolis, Please!”

  1. Perri August 30, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    Holy fried ravioli!!!!!!!!!!!!! Haha Seester – that is SO awesome that Vitamix on Facebook posted your recipe! I’m so excited for you and proud of you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl Snacks 2013 « The League of Urban Wifery - January 28, 2013

    […] Fried Ravioli […]

Leave a Reply

