Pizza Rock Sacramento

31 Aug

Happy Friday, everyone! What better way to celebrate than to go out and grab a bite? Well, I started early and went last night, but would love to do it again tonight.

Anyway, last night my mom and I had dinner at Pizza Rock here in Sacramento. It is downtown across from the Crest Theater, and their outdoor seating makes for the best people-watching spot around.

I had heard that they recently added gluten free pizza to the menu, but when I had called to make sure I was told they often ran out of the gluten free dough. Well, bummer. When I go out to eat it is almost always on a whim, so I figured this place would forever be out of the question. However, after asking my mom if she wanted to go to dinner to celebrate surviving my first week of grad school, she suggested this place. She called and was told they never run out now and suggested we go. Go we did.

The atmosphere is pretty cool. Although we sat outside, the inside is something to be seen, for sure. I made sure to check it all out on my way to the restroom (not gluten-related, thank you).

Our waitress was friendly and willing to answer any of my questions. I asked if they had anything aside from the two gluten free pizzas they offered that was gf on the menu and as willing and friendly as she was, her facial expression gave me the answer I needed. Her eventual response was, “salad?” to which she quickly added, “I could double check for you,” and I continued my interrogation. She was patient and helpful, but the menu only shows to specifically gluten free items (pizzas), and the appetizers are questionable. We did manage to pick apart some of the appetizers (the green beans looked delicious) and discovered they were fried in the same oil as glutened items. Oh, well. Also disappointing: the gluten free pizzas are precariously placed on the page above the delicious pasta dishes that are NOT gluten free, so it is a bit confusing and disappointing.

 

Aside from this initial disappointment, we were told that any pizza could be made gluten free. Great! Downside? There is a $5.00 up charge. Why it costs $5.00 to do that, I’m not sure, but I’m sure there are reasons. The gluten free pizzas cost $18.00, the pizza we decided upon was $17.00 (we ordered the Cal Italia – yum), but with the charge it became $22.00 for our selection. Was it worth it? I have to say the pizza was pretty tasty. Not only was it delicious, the consistency of the dough wasn’t bad at all and it carried the toppings well. I would’ve eaten more had I had the room, but I was also shoveling a salad that was quite filling.

 

Their selection of salads was pretty good, and the salad we ordered to share was delicious. It was so good, in fact, we actually enjoyed it ON our pizza. We ordered the Gorgonzola & Apple salad with “Mixed Sonoma Greens, Balsamic Vinaigrette, Gorgonzola, Apples, Spicy Candied Bianchi Orchards Walnuts, Dried Cherries” and it was delicious. The cherries really made it, and it was the perfect accompaniment to the pizza.

 

Once we had chowed down on most of the salad, a server brought out the pizza and was very patient with us while we double- and triple-checked that it was gluten free. It was surprisingly large in size compared to most gluten free pizzas available and was piping hot. The Cal Italia was a Gold Medal Winner of the Food Network Pizza Champions Challenge and oozes with “Asiago, Mozzarella, Imported Gorgonzola, Sweet Fig Preserve, Prosciutto di Parma, Parmigiano-Reggiano, Balsamic Reduction” and called our names, for sure.

 

The crust was thick, but not too much so, and wasn’t gooey like some “paste” dough I’ve encountered. It was flavorful and chewy, and was even better topped with some left over salad. Whoever makes the dough (I didn’t ask) has really nailed it. Kudos.

 

Overall, the service was friendly enough, the time it took for the food to arrive to our table was good, and the food was great. Although I was too hungry (and busy chatting about my grad program) to really inquire about all the logistics of the dough (i.e. where it is made, who handles it, etc.) I’d suggest this place to anyone looking for a really enjoyable gluten free meal. Note: I did take an enzyme pill before the meal, so I’m unable to tell you if I had any real side effects due to the pill’s efficiency in handling the gluten I ingest.

If you’ve been here and had an experience you’d like to share, please let us know!

 

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

