Creepy Crafting

8 Sep

Happy weekend!

This post isn’t a recipe, but it is for the kitchen! Only a handful of people knew (you’ll know now) that I have a secret crafting passion. As much as I enjoy cooking and baking, I also love to try new crafts and projects. The problem is, though, that crafts generally take me a lot longer to do than cooking a meal does. So, most of the posts are obviously about food.

Well here is my humble craft attempt. My mother-in-law made me some awesome kitchen towels as a gift and I can’t live without them. She took a plain old kitchen towel, added some crocheting, sewed on a button, and boom – two delightful kitchen towels were born!

Since Halloween is coming up, and it is my very favorite holiday, I decided to try my hand at some Halloween kitchen towels. I know some crochet basics and know how to sew on a button, so I gave it a shot.

Okay, so it isn’t the most flattering pic of it, but hey. You get the point. I don’t think the entire project cost me more than a few bucks, and didn’t take nearly as long as I’d thought it might.

I started with a kitchen towel from the Dollar Tree (where yes, it was a dollar). I laid it out on my cutting mat, and did my best to straighten it out (I was too lazy to wash or iron it, folks).

Then I cut it in half. I really didn’t measure anything for this. I just eyeballed where the center might be, adjusted for some bats, and sliced away.

From here you could hem the top where you cut, but I left it as a raw edge. I was simply trying to get to the crochet part to see if I could do it, but the next one I make I will most likely hem the edges just so they look a little more finished.

Next, fold the raw edge over a bit, and make little cuts along the edge for the initial crochet loops. I used a scissors and just snip, snip, snipped.

Now, for the crocheting: it isn’t difficult at all, but I’m horrible at explaining it since I’m not quite proficient in the crocheting vocabulary. Across the top, using the cut slits, I did – what I understand to be, anyway – a slip stitch. Or, it might be some sort of single chain. Next time I will do a video tutorial, for sure. If anyone out there can label what I did, I’d love to know what it is called!

From there I double chained across the length of the first stitches, and when I came to the end I did two slip stitches to prepare for the following row.

I did a row of single chains, another row of double chains, another row of single chains, and the rest double chains. Here is the trick: shorten the width of the row with each row you add, so that it tapers off. I really wish I had taken better notes while I did this so I could tell you exactly what I did for each row, but this was an experiment, people. I can tell you I ended with a width of four double chains across.

When the crocheting is complete, tie it off, and find a button you like. I found a pack of simple black and white buttons at Walmart for about $1.29 I think. I used a black button, since I liked the contrast, and sewed it to the BACK side of the tapered crocheted end. What do I mean the back?

If you have the towel laying flat with the colored side up, flip it over. That is the side you’ll sew your button on to. The idea is that you’ll fold the crocheted part back onto itself to button around an oven bar or some other bar or handle in your kitchen.

When you’ve sewn the button on, can fold it over and button, you can then hang it up where you please! I hope to have more detailed instructions the next time I do a crocheted project, and I’m open (and looking for) any crocheting advice or insight I can get!

Leave a Reply

