Cheese Sticks + Football

10 Sep

I don’t know what it is about football season that makes me think of cheese sticks, but I always seem to crave them come football time. Truth be told, I don’t even watch football! My husband does, though, so it has become a tradition in our house. Where my cheese stick association came from, I have no idea. I can tell you, however, that no where in public have I found gluten free cheese sticks on a menu. So, I of course took on the challenge. I used to make them pre-gf, and they are just as easy to make now than ever. I was fresh out of marinara, so I served mine up with some Ranch with a little basil and red pepper flake added. It was divine, and my hub was pleasantly surprised when I served them up.

Here we go:

A bunch of individual string cheese – I think I used about 8-10, and I used Frigo Cheese Heads Light String Cheese

1/2 c rice flour – I use Bob’s Red Mill flours

2 eggs, beaten

1 c gf breadcrumbs of choice – I used my Vitamix to grind up my Glutino pretzels to a fine crumb

Oil for frying

You’ll also need: a pre-fry plate and a post-fry plate, and paper towels for the post-fry plate

This couldn’t be easier, but the set up is important. I’ve heard people say it is best to have an assembly line set up when coating things to fry, and they are correct! Or at least I think they are. I set my rice flour, eggs, and crumbs in a row in bowls. I also had my pre-fry plate nearby and had my post-fry plate next to the oil. Keep it compact, neat, and it’ll be a snap to get through it and to clean up.

To make the sticks: cut the string cheese in half so you have two short sticks instead of one long one. Coat the little sticks in the rice flour, dunk them into the eggs, and roll them in the crumbs. Here is a tip: use a fork to fish the sticks out of the egg – it allows the excess egg to drip off, while keeping your hands pretty clean. As always, I wore gloves for all of this dipping and rolling.

I coated all of my sticks before I started frying any of them because I anticipated the drying process to go quite quickly, which it did. So be prepared.

Once you have your cheese sticks all ready to fry, be ready to move quickly. Preheat your oil, and by preheat I mean it is ready when it is hot enough to sizzle some crumbs you’ve thrown into the oil. I don’t have a thermometer, although I know I’m due for one.

When the oil is hot, fry a few at a time. Note: the oil should be deep enough in whatever pan you are using to cover the sticks completely. Few for about two minutes, or until the sticks are golden brown and NOT oozing from every crack in the coating. When they are done, pull them out (I used a slotted spoon) and drain on your post-fry plate (the one with paper towels).

 

I made a quick basil-Ranch dipping sauce since I was all out of delicious marinara sauce. To about 1/4 c Ranch dressing I added 2 tsp. dried basil, 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, and a dash of garlic salt. Boom. It was delicious.

One Response to “Cheese Sticks + Football”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl Snacks 2013 « The League of Urban Wifery - January 28, 2013

    […] Cheese Sticks […]

Leave a Reply

