Buffalo meatballs – Perfect for game day!

18 Sep

So, I’m a little late posting this, but hey. I’m finding a new rhythm with work, school, homework, and home life and I think I may be getting the hang of it finally.

This past Sunday I was inspired by all of the hullabaloo on Pinterest (as you know, I’m addicted – who isn’t) about buffalo meatballs or buffalo this or buffalo that, so I made some myself!

I wanted to do chicken, but the store was out. They had ground pork. I went for it. I also went for keeping the ingredients simple as to not overpower the hot sauce they’d be so deliciously coated in. I normally ramp up the seasonings, but the simplicity of this recipe worked well with the sauce.

Here we go:

1.5 lbs ground pork

1 scallion, finely sliced

1 carrot, peeled and diced

2 stalks of celery, trimmed and diced

2-3 eggs, depending upon how well it all holds together

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp salt

Pepper to taste

Hot sauce of your liking – I used a chicken wing sauce my dad had bought (it was gf), but someone tossed the bottle before I could take note

Sriracha to taste

In a large bowl combine ingredients, and squish to combine (technically term, of course). Don’t be afraid to use your hands. As I’m mentioned before, I usually use gloves of some sort while I’m cooking or baking, but it is up to you. Shape the mixture into meatballs any size you desire. I made mine a little smaller than a golf ball.

Heat a large fry pan on medium heat, add some oil (just a drizzle), and brown the meatballs on all sides. Half way through browning I added some water (or chicken stock if you have it) to help steam things along and cook them through. Cooking took no time at all.

When the meatballs are browned, and heated through – note I didn’t say COOKED through – remove them from the pan and let them hang out on a plate. Meanwhile, add your preferred buffalo-style sauce to the pan to heat through. Add your meatballs back into the sauce and cover to cook through. Add the sriracha to taste for added kick.

Mine weren’t the prettiest, but they were a huge hit. We enjoyed them with Ranch dressing and celery sticks. They were delicious alongside homemade artichoke dip, and were perfect for a game day win.

2 Responses to “Buffalo meatballs – Perfect for game day!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Awesome Artichoke Dip « The League of Urban Wifery - September 19, 2012

    […] the dip), bread, or fresh veggies. You will not be disappointed and it is the perfect pairing with buffalo meatballs and a good […]

  2. Super Bowl Snacks 2013 « The League of Urban Wifery - January 28, 2013

    […] Buffalo Meatballs […]

Leave a Reply

