Pumpkin Cake!

21 Sep

Oh, yes, folks. We are nearing my favorite time of year – Fall! It is still pretty warm in my neck of the woods, but I’m hoping it cools down soon. I miss pumpkins, cool breezes, falling leaves, and Halloween.

I was inspired by my anticipation for fall to try a pumpkin cake recipe. I had made a banana cake once, which was more of a breakfast cake, but it turned out well so I decided to try it with pumpkin. It is absolutely delicious.

 

 

Here we go:

1 15 oz can pumpkin

3/4 c oil

2 eggs

1 c sugar

3/4 c rice flour

3/4 c sorghum flour

1 tsp xanthan gum

1.5 tsp baking soda

1.5 tsp baking powder

1.5 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Grease a 9 x 13 pan. Grab a big bowl. In the bowl combine the dry ingredients and whisk to combine thoroughly.

 

 

Next, add the pumpkin, eggs, and oil. Use a spoon to combine (it’ll get stuck in the whisk). Mix until the batter is smooth, thick, and well incorporated.

 

Pour (or spoon) batter into greased baking dish and smooth as best you can. I didn’t realize just how thick the batter was until I tried to smooth it!

 

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until you can smell it. That sounds silly, but it is a good rule. If you can really smell the true aroma of whatever you are baking, it is close to being done. Well, that is what I’ve found, anyway. When a toothpick comes out clean, pull it out of the oven and let cool a bit.

 

We enjoyed our plates of it both plain and with Cool Whip. It would be delicious with an apple cider glaze, ginger ice cream, or candied pecans!

One Response to “Pumpkin Cake!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Spice Syrup « The League of Urban Wifery - October 8, 2012

    […] by Pinterest, yet again, I felt possessed to try a new pumpkin recipe. This time, instead of pumpkin cake, it was pumpkin spice syrup. I tried the recipe specifically (with a few minor tweaks) from Cook […]

Leave a Reply

