Peanut Butter Pumpkin Pancakes

1 Oct

My addiction to Pinterest continues. This time I was sucked in by Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes and tried my hand at them. My version isn’t so paleo, but it is gluten free! The peanut butter adds a richness that I hadn’t expected, but the pumpkin flavor shines through and is delicious. These are definitely gracing my kitchen again, for sure.

Here we go:

1 c pumpkin puree

1 c peanut butter

4 eggs

1/2 c milk

2 Tbl honey

1 Tbl vanilla

1/3 sorghum flour (or any gluten free flour)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ginger

Combine ingredients in a bowl and mix well to combine. Preheat a skillet on medium (these babies need time to cook through so keep the temperature low). I used a 1/4 c measuring cup to scoop the batter onto the skillet, and it made 3 inch pancakes. That sounds small, but these are rich.

 

These cook up similarly to regular pancakes – when they bubble up, flip them over. The took about 4 or 5 minutes to cook on each side. When they are done, let them cook for a second before eating for the insides to set up a bit. I served them up (to myself) with butter and syrup, then slapped some whipped cream on top. They were so good I may just have to make some more soon to freeze and eat during the week.

 

Leave a Reply

