Eat Your Broccoli!

5 Oct

When I was younger my parents would make my sister and I steamed broccoli with butter, or steamed broccoli with hollandaise sauce, and I think it surprised people to know we loved it. We also enjoyed beef and broccoli, broccoli with oyster sauce, and the list goes on. Well, it wasn’t until I was older that I tried broccoli roasted in the oven. I don’t even know where I saw it or tried it first, but it is GOOD. And, I don’t think there is anything easier to make.

 

You’ll need:

3 bunches of fresh broccoli

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Shredded or grated parmesan cheese (Kraft is always popular, Stella, Sargento)

To roast it up:

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Trim the broccoli down to as many small florets as you can get. Line a baking sheet with parchment, drizzle with oil, and place the broccoli florets onto the pan as well. Toss to coat (gently) in the olive oil, or give them another drizzle and season with salt and pepper.

 

Bake them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes, or until they’ve begun to brown up and smell a bit nutty. When they are slightly crisped, pull them out.

Their flavor is really intensified with roasting, and it goes perfectly with parmesan. You can either sprinkle parmesan on the roasted morsels right out of the oven so it melts a bit, or just before eating.

I served up my broccoli alongside my penne lasagna bake and it was delicious!

 

 

2 Responses to “Eat Your Broccoli!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Penne Lasagna Bake « The League of Urban Wifery - October 8, 2012

    […] I were really ambitious I would have served this with homemade french bread, a salad, and roasted broccoli. Instead, we just had the broccoli to accompany it, and it was perfect! Everyone gobbled it up. […]

  2. Thanksgiving Lineup « The League of Urban Wifery - November 21, 2012

    […] Roasted broccoli […]

Leave a Reply

