Pumpkin Spice Syrup

8 Oct

Inspired by Pinterest, yet again, I felt possessed to try a new pumpkin recipe. This time, instead of pumpkin cake, it was pumpkin spice syrup. I tried the recipe specifically (with a few minor tweaks) from Cook Like a Champion, which is an awesome site. I’ve seen some people post it as a latte syrup, or for pancake, or for any other number of things, but I think you can use it for anything!

Making this syrup was pretty dang easy, and it filled my house with such a wonderful fragrance. Everyone enjoyed it, and it seemed to really kick off the feeling of Fall for everyone around that day. 

In fact, I’m enjoying a cup of coffee right now with two generous spoonfuls of the stuff and it is intensely rich, and the aroma is to die for.

I used:

1.5 c water

1.5 c sugar

2 cinnamon sticks

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground cloves

4 Tbl pumpkin puree

Combine ingredients in a saucepan and simmer for at least an hour, or until it becomes thick and syrupy. I think I left mine to simmer on and off (I was running errands and whatnot so I turned it off while I was out) for about 3 hours.

I stored mine in a pint sized mason jar in the fridge and it is wonderful to have on hand. I can’t wait to try to drizzled over my next batch of pumpkin cake this week!

Leave a Reply

