Gluten Free Sugar Cookies

10 Oct

This recipe is a combination of all kinds of recipes I’ve come across over the last few years (like most of my recipes). These cookies turned out flaky, buttery, and addictive.

I was inspired to make gf sugar cookies because I’ve had a set of Halloween cookie cutters in my pantry that have been waiting to be used. I finally pulled them out and put them to good use!

I ended up making the dough, and bringing it to the kids that I work with and they had a great time cutting out silly Halloween shapes and eating the fruits of our labor.

Here we go:

1.5 c sorghum flour

1/2 c cornstarch

1 c powdered sugar

1 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp salt

1 c cold butter, cubed

1 egg

1-2 Tbl milk (I used lactose free)

1 tsp extract – Note: I used vanilla for this first batch, but will be trying orange, anise, and almond extracts as the holiday season continues

In a large bowl combine dry ingredients and whisk to combine.

Add the cubed butter, and using your hands or a pastry cutter, cut in the butter until the mixture becomes like grainy sand with small pebbles.

Next up, add the egg, milk, and extract. I used a fork and my hands to combine it all. It came together pretty well, and was a little sticky, so I added a touch more cornstarch. I also added food coloring (red and yellow to make it festive for Fall).

Once combined, turn it out onto a piece of parchment dusted with cornstarch.

Knead it to combine the colors more thoroughly, if you like. Use cornstarch to keep it from sticking to everything. Then, flatten and roll up into a giant candy roll.

From here, stick it in the fridge for about an hour. I found that it could have used even longer, or maybe next time U;d stick it in the freezer for 30-90 minutes and see what happens. It got pretty soft in a short amount of time and made it a bit unmanageable at first.

When the dough has chilled up, dust another piece of parchment and roll out a workable piece of dough. It cuts nicely with cutters.

Place your cookies on a baking sheet lined with parchment (or a nonstick pan should be fine). Bake for about 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees F.

When the cookies come out, they may be a bit brown around the edges, but I think had I made sure the dough was at an even thickness before cutting (I did it with kids, remember?) then they would have been a little more evenly cooked. Nonetheless, the cookies are flaky, delicious, and there is no way you can eat just one. Or three. Next time I’ll frost them or glaze them, but they were just as good with a nice glass of milk.

Leave a Reply

