Pumpkin Chai Muffins

24 Oct

Sunday mornings have always been when I feel like cooking most, I think. This last Sunday was the first day it really felt like Fall … Well, maybe it felt more like Winter. The sky was gray, it was chilly, and it was perfect for baking.

I love to bake, but sometimes I don’t like to spend all the time it takes to blend flours, find ingredients, etc. I’m normally very organized and efficient, but sometimes I’m also very hungry.

I looked in my pantry and found a box of Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cake Mix, Yogi Chai Black tea, a can of pumpkin, a bag of dried cranberries, and a tub of pitted dates. What could I make with all that? Pumpkin Chai muffins, of course!

These cute little muffins pack a lot of flavor. The cranberries are soaked in tea, so they burst in your mouth, and the dates add a richness that is just perfect. The pumpkin keeps these muffins moist, and Betty Crocker is just the bomb. I always keep Betty Crocker Gluten Free products on hand because they are the perfect go-to, never let me down, and although they are a bit more expensive than glutenous mixes, they are well worth the price.

Here we go:

1 box Betty Crocker GF Cake Mix (the yellow kind, not the chocolate)

3 eggs

1 stick of butter, softened

2/3 c hot water

1 bag Chai tea – I used Yogi Chai Black 

2 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 c pumpkin puree

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground clove

1/2 c dried cranberries

1/2 c chopped pitted dates

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F. Pull out your muffin tins – I ended up with 22 muffins, so I used two 12-cup tins. Line the cups with baking cups or butter the pans thoroughly.

In a measuring cup, measure out 2/3 c hot water. I did this right in my Pyrex 2-cup measuring cup. To the hot water, add the chai tea bag and the dried cranberries. Let them hang out for a bit.

In a mixing bowl combine eggs, butter, vanilla, pumpkin, and cake mix. Stir to combine a bit, then add the tea and cranberries (minus the tea bag, of course). Add the chopped dates and mix to combine. I used a fork for the mixing, but you can use whatever you like. If you use a hand mixer, leave the dates and cranberries out until you’ve thoroughly mixed the other ingredients.

Using a small ice cream scoop, or an 1/8-cup measuring cup (like I did), spoon the batter into your baking cups (or greased tins) about half way full.

 

Stick them in the oven and bake for about 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. I cooled mine on a baking rack, then dove right in. I think I ate three right away. I just couldn’t help myself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

