Thanksgiving Lineup

21 Nov

Okay, so I’m not quite a blogging extraordinaire, but I’m getting there. I considered having a pre-Thanksgiving cookout and photoshoot so that I could post beautiful meal photos. Then I considered having to cook Thanksgiving twice. No, thank you.

It isn’t that I don’t want to be a great reference for all of you … It is more like I just don’t have the time right now to be serving up two feasts if I don’t have to.  I’m sure some of you can relate. 🙂

At the very least I thought I could let you all know what I’m planning to do in case you need any last-minute ideas!

On our menu:

Smoked (and spatchcocked) turkey

Mashed potatoes

Gravy – chicken/turley stock, apple cider, thyme, sage, garlic, onion, lots of salt and pepper, and some cornstarch to thicken it up

Sweet potatoes – roasted with brown sugar, orange zest, and a touch of cream

Roasted broccoli

Bacon mac-and-cheese (a special request by my sister)

Salad – probably spinach with dried cranberries and almonds with a tangy dressing

Homemade rolls – using all kinds of fresh herbs and my french bread recipe

An assortment of gluten free pies

I will of course post all kinds of photos and recipes after I make them this week! Stay tuned and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

