Florentine bark

16 Dec

I’ve missed my kitchen. I’ve missed it a lot.

Thankfully, I’m back. Finals are over, papers are turned it, I’ve worked my last full work week, and now I can breathe – and cook – again.

As I greeted my kitchen today I felt possessed to be festive and make my first batch of holiday cookies. However, I have been feeling pretty beat and tried to think of something that would be quick and easy. What possibly could I make?

Florentines. Or, florentine bark. Even better.

Florentines are thin, delightful cookies that are usually backed with chocolate and take no time to make. I did make a batch of these simple cookies, but then got an even better idea. Instead of doing individual cookies, which spread out while baking, I’d pour the whole batch onto a cookie sheet and break it into pieces. And, I’d add a secret ingredient.

The secret ingredient I used was anise extract. Random, I know. Why anise? Well, I love biscotti. I love the hint of anise that is complemented by almonds and chocolate. I didn’t know how it would turn out this time around, but it was perfect.

They turned out fabulously.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I originally found the almond florentine recipe in a Bon Appetit magazine, but have subbed out flours to make it gluten free.

Here we go:

1/4 c butter

1/4 c heavy cream

6 Tbl sugar

2 Tbl + 1 tsp sorghum flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Sorghum Flour)

1 1/4 c slivered almonds

1/2 tsp anise extract (my secret ingredient)

Chocolate of choice for drizzling

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment and set aside.

In a saucepan combine butter, cream, sugar, flour, and extract. Heat until simmering.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Add the almonds, and simmer a few minutes more. It will be thick and smell delicious.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Pour the mixture onto the parchment and spread thinly (I used a butter knife to spread it out).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Bake it for about 10 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges. Again – I am not very good at keeping track of time, so forgive me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Drizzle with melted chocolate of choice (I used semi-sweet) and let cool completely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

When it has cooled and set up, break it into pieces and enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

