Faux Pho

10 Jan

It has been freezing here in Sacramento. Ang by freezing, I mean cars are frozen over, frost/ice is all over lawns and parks, and it is just plain cold.

I am not a fan.

To warm up, soups are always good. Whether it is tortilla soup, chicken soup, ham and bean soup, or something more like a stew, I am a fan.

A few of my friends had asked if I’d had Pho. I was embarrassed to say I had never tried it, much less heard of it. On my quest to try to describe it to you, or to figure out what I knew (or not), I found this explanation of it on a site called LovingPho. Fitting, right?

This magical dish cures hangovers and colds supposedly, and is just damn good. Or so I’ve been told. As it turns out, I still have never had the real thing. I’ve been told the broth probably is “safe” for me to try, or that the meats aren’t marinated, but I just haven’t gotten there yet.

However … In a bout of illness that was driving me nuts, a friend of mine suggested I try to make it at home (or something like it). She asked if I had rice noodles, chicken broth, hot sauce, and a few other ingredients. Well, I always have rice noodles, chicken broth, and hot sauce!

Here is what I threw together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used:

2 c chicken stock

1-2 tsp gf soy sauce – San-J, Kikkoman, or Little Soya can be found in my kitchen

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 tsp ginger powder or fresh ginger, sliced

1/2 c frozen peas

1/4 package rice noodles (there are all kinds of options in every grocery store I’ve found – the ingredients are usually rice and water, or just rice)

Handful of cilantro (or more if you are like me and love it)

1-2 tsp Sriracha

Combine stock, peas, ginger, garlic, and soy sauce in a saucepan or small pot. Bring to a boil and simmer until peas are cooked through. Add the noddles and cook until they are to your liking. I say that because I like to serve my noodles when they are still a bit crunchy or al dente because they will continue to cook as I’m eating them. Top with cilantro and sriracha and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

