Funnel Cakes!

15 Jan

Oh, how I miss the greasy food of the State Fair. In California the State Fair is held right here in Sacramento, so it is nice and convenient for us to make it every year.

Before I cut out gluten I’d enjoy everything the fair had to offer: corn dogs, funnel cakes, fried zucchini, fried artichokes, and so on. Fried? I’d eat it.

However, the first year I cut out gluten I found myself at the fair and in tears. It seemed so overwhelming and as though I’d never find anything safe to eat. I think I found a baked potato shack and choked back my tears as I choked down the potato. Why was I crying? Well, I have low blood sugar meltdowns – I’ll admit it – but also because I felt so isolated and left out. I had never imagined eating – or not eating – would be such an emotional issue.

I have made gluten free corn dogs in the past (although it was before this site), have had gluten free fried artichokes at my wedding (courtesy of Chef Mark at the Forest House Lodge who really takes pride in creating allergy-friendly experiences for the guests), but have never really mastered the gluten free funnel cake.

Until now.

Well, I mastered it enough to shovel about 3 of them in no time flat. They weren’t perfectly funneled like they are at the fair because I just didn’t have the patience for it in my late night madness, but they’re delicious nonetheless. Kind of ugly, but good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

You’ll need:

1 c sorghum flour

3/4 c rice flour

1/4 c tapioca flour

1/8 c potato starch

1 Tbl sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 c milk

2 eggs

Oil, for frying

In a pot, heat the oil. Disclaimer: I never take the temperature of my oil because I always forget to. Instead, I drip a few drops of whatever I’m frying into the oil and test the heat that way.

In a bowl combine all of the ingredients and whisk to combine thoroughly.

I used a 1/2 c measuring cup to scoop it into the oil in lieu of using a funnel. Pre-gf I had made “real” funnel cakes with gluten and a funnel. They were good, too. But anyway. Back to the gluten free version.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

When a few drops of the batter sizzle in the oil I started frying. I gently and slowly drizzled the batter into the oil using the measuring cup. Although the shapes were interesting, the flavor was irresistible.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

When they are puffed up and golden brown, fish them out and let drain on paper towel. Shower them with powdered sugar and enjoy! Or, if you are like me and just need that extra bit of sweetness (because fried sweet batter and powdered sugar aren’t enough), enjoy them drizzled with honey!

IMG_2930

 

Leave a Reply

