Flu Blaster Smoothie

1 Mar

It has been almost a month since my last post, I know. Spring semester started, my jobs changed, and time escapes me all too easily.

And now … I’m sick. I made it almost all the way through cold season without any major illness, but it would appear that it has finally found me. I’ve missed classes, skipped volunteering, and have had to cancel plans. I am not a fan.

Ironically, now I have a bit of time – time to sleep, time to catch up on homework, and time to post. Ah, how bittersweet.

In my sickened state, I find that I am craving something cold and refreshing. I tried Coca-Cola (which I haven’t had in over two years for fear of being glutened) to whet my whistle since water seemed too bland. How silly. I should have known soda would not do the trick.

What I found to be the perfect remedy for my need for something cold and refreshing was a tart smoothie.

This quick and refreshing smoothie has fresh ginger, POM pomegranate juice, and fresh fruit. It is just what I needed.

Flu Blaster Smoothie 3 1 13

 

You’ll need:

1 or 2 c frozen mixed fruit (I used Walmart’s Great Value frozen fruit blend with pineapple, peaches, mangoes, and strawberries)

1 c frozen blueberries

2 tsp fresh ginger (Note: I keep ginger root in my freezer, then pull it out to use as needed)

1 to 2 c POM pomegranate juice

Optional: spinach, greens, other fruit of your liking, or sriracha for a healthy dose of heat

I used my beloved Vitamix for this job. It couldn’t have been easier. I put all of the ingredients in the blender, put the lid on, and turned it on. I left the intensity setting on low (as opposed to high), but turned the speed to about 6. Blend until smooth. Add more liquid as needed.

I’m hoping this delicious concoction will help me on my way to wellness. At the very least, it is delicious!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

