Waffles!

9 May

It has literally been months since I have posted something. Each time it gets longer and longer between posts, but hey. I’m still here. Life is just getting busier and busier. I’ve had a few accomplishments (like finding an awesome trainee site for my M.F.T. hours, and redoing my wet bar cabinets) and a few setbacks (pink eye a few times, allergies, and so on).

I haven’t stopped cooking. Luckily. I just run out of hours and never get to the posting part!

Here is a very late recipe I made: waffles! Why is it so exciting? I haven’t made waffles for about two years now … Well, none that came out right, anyway. These are perfect. They are crisp on the outside, light and chewy on the inside, and have a wonderful nutty taste (thanks to the bean flours in the mix).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

You’ll need

1.5 c Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour – believe this: I just got an 80 oz. bag at COSTCO! That’s right.

1/2 c Bob’s Red Mill Golden Flaxseed Meal – also found at Costco!

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

4 eggs, separated

1.5 c milk (I used fat-free lactose-free milk)

1 Tbl oil

1 Tbl honey

1 tsp vanilla

Here we go:

1. In a large bowl combine flour, flax meal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

2. In a measuring cup (I used a 2-cup), combine egg YOLKS, milk, oil, honey, and vanilla.

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and mix (I used a whisk).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

4. In yet another bowl, beat the egg WHITES with an electric mixer until peaks form. I know there is a specific name for this, but I can’t remember it. So, it should look like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

5. Next, pour the egg whites into the batter. Using a spatula, gently FOLD the whites into the batter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

6. I stopped folding when it seemed to be combined and it looked like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

7. To make the waffles, follow the instructions for your specific waffle maker. The waffle maker I have looks like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

My mom taught me that waffles are done with the steam coming from the waffles starts to decrease. So, when the steam slowed, I pulled my waffles out and the first batch looked like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So, I added butter and syrup and enjoyed them thoroughly!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

