Brown Rice with Chicken and Spinach

31 May

As I mentioned in my last post, there have been all kinds of lifestyle changes going on in our house. Our diets have always been different, but things are really improving. I can’t have gluten, my dad has all kinds of health problems that restrict his diet, and my hub is allergic to fresh fruit. Getting the proper nutrition has always been a challenge due to budget issues and the differences in diets and schedules.

But alas, we are pulling it together.

My husband has started a new Herbalife nutrition program, consisting of meal replacement shakes, bars, and a revamped diet full of protein, veggies, and good carbs. Now, this is all new to me, and although it caught me by surprise, it has proven to be really helpful for him. Although I don’t usually plug products or things, he IS my husband, so check out his website for more info on his journey.

Products aside, I’m really enjoying the dietary changes going on around here! There has been an increase in brown rice, veggies (of all kinds), different meats, and fruit. I couldn’t be happier with that! No complaints, for sure. In the midst of all this newfound dietary glory I’ve also been whipping up more quick and healthy recipes. I love my funnel cake, french bread, and cinnamon rolls – I still enjoy those – but I also enjoy stuff like brown rice with chicken and spinach!

Chicken and Spinach with Brown RiceYou’ll need:

3 c cooked brown rice (I cooked mine in chicken stock and used Minute Rice)

Olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, sliced

2 tsp red pepper flakes

1 Tbl white wine

1/2 tsp fennel seeds (I love the McCormick brand)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tsp soy sauce (I use Kikkoman GF soy sauce or San-J GF Reduced Sodium Tamari)

1.5 c cooked chicken, diced or chopped

1 9-oz box of frozen spinach, thawed (sometimes I like shortcuts – I use Green Giant frozen spinach)

 

Here we go:

1. In a large saute pan drizzle olive oil. Add garlic, pepper flakes, fennel, salt, and pepper. Saute for a few minutes until it is fragrant.

2. Add the spinach, white wine, and soy sauce. Saute for a few minutes and break up the spinach.

3. Add the chicken and heat through.

4. When the chicken is hot, and the flavors in the pan have worked their magic, toss in the cooked rice and stir to combine. You can either serve it immediately or saute a few minutes more to further combine the flavors.

5. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

